Nine Technology alumni to be honored April 21

Les Abend, Rodrick Glass and Steven Habben

Nine graduates of the Purdue Polytechnic Institute at Purdue University will be recognized during two award ceremonies Friday, April 21.

The awards are presented to alumni who have harnessed the power of their Purdue degrees to positively impact their chosen professions and have changed how today's technology will improve the world tomorrow. They have enjoyed professional, philanthropic, and personal successes.

Distinguished Technology Alumni award recipients are Les Abend, New Milford, Connecticut; Rodrick Glass, Atlanta, Georgia; and Steven Habben, West Lafayette. They will be honored during an awards dinner Friday evening.

Les Abend is a captain with American Airlines and an author. He also serves as an aviation analyst for CNN and contributing editor for Flying magazine. He earned his bachelor of science degree in professional flight technology from Purdue in 1979.

Rodrick Glass executive vice president of business development for Allure, a Christie company. He earned his bachelor’s degree in organizational leadership and supervision in 1993, master’s degree in industrial technology in 1994, and an executive MBA from DePaul University.

Steven Habben is president of Kettelhut Construction Inc. He earned his bachelor’s degree in building construction technology in 1984.

Outstanding Technology Alumni and Early Career Award recipients will be honored during a breakfast ceremony Friday morning.

Outstanding Technology Alumni award recipients are:

  • David Hetrick, Chicago, building construction technology
  • Shanna Morrett, Smyrna, Georgia, computer graphics technology
  • Jennifer D. Rider, West Lafayette, computer graphics technology
  • Matthew Young, Arlington, Virginia, computer and information technology

Early Career Award recipients are:

  • Derek Kultgen, Chicago, mechanical engineering technology
  • Karen Waldenmeyer, Maineville, Ohio, computer graphics technology