BCM faculty accolades

Yi Jiang in China

During the summer, Yi Jiang attended the 9th Asia Pacific Transportation Development Conference in Chongqing, China, with a paper titled “Comparison of Various Software Packages for Life Cycle Cost Analysis of Highway Projects.” He also visited several universities and highway agencies in China, including South China University of Technology, Dalian University of Technology, Chongqing Jiaotong University, Chongqing Department of Transportation, and Shanxi Department of Transportation. He gave lectures to the faculty members, students, and highway engineers during his visits. His lectures covered topics in highway safety, freeway work zones, pavement rehabilitations, highway designs and the College of Technology and BCM.

ASC Awards


James Jenkins, Steve Schuette and Brad Benhart receive ASC awards.

Brad Benhart was the recipient of the Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) National Excellence Teaching Award. This award is made annually to one untenured, tenure-track faculty member of a four-year ASC member school. It recognizes the faculty member’s contribution to construction education, excellence in teaching, and dedication to the construction profession. Benhart has been a faculty member at Purdue since August 2009 and serves as the assistant department head.

James L. Jenkins was presented with the ASC Outstanding Educator Award. This award is made annually to a faculty member at a four-year ASC member school with at least seven years of teaching experience. Jenkins has been a faculty member at Purdue since 1998.

Steve D. Schuette, professor emeritus, was the recipient of the ASC Lifetime Achievement award. This award is made to individuals who have made significant contributions to construction education. Schuette served as the department head of BCM for 14 years (July 1992 – July 2006) and continued as a faculty member until his retirement on January 1, 2011.

Another teaching award for Benhart


In the spring, Brad Benhart also was honored with the 2012 Purdue University Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards in Memory of Charles B. Murphy. Read a profile on Benhart, which was written in conjunction with the award.