Graduate Faculty

Every graduate student recruits a graduate committee to guide his or her plan of study and research. Graduate faculty are certified with different privileges and responsibilities, based on their own credentials. The following list is intended to help students identify suitable graduate faculty to recruit for their committee. Note that faculty names are linked to their biographies. Additionally, the following should be noted:

  • All graduate faculty are certified to teach CNIT graduate courses.
  • "Non-thesis" refers to the "directed project" and "coursework-only" M.S. degree programs.
Tenure-track, clinical, emeritus faculty, research faculty with a departmental affiliation, or professors of practice that hold a doctoral degree with a dissertation.
Dietz, J. Eric Professor
Grad ID #: C6343
765-494-8130
jedietz@purdue.edu
Gusev, Dmitri A. Associate Professor
Grad ID #: C9382
812-348-2029
dgusev@purdue.edu
Hacker, Thomas J Professor/Interim Department Head
Grad ID #: C7114
765-496-1072
hacker@purdue.edu
Kane, Michael D Associate Professor
Grad ID #: C6254
765-494-2564
mdkane@purdue.edu
Kao, Dominic Assistant Professor
Grad ID #: C10557
765-496-6882
kaod@purdue.edu
Karabiyik, Umit Assistant Professor
Grad ID #: C10559
7954966877
umit@purdue.edu
Laux, Chad Matthew Associate Professor
Grad ID #: C7291
765-494-0742
claux@purdue.edu
Laux, Dawn Clinical Associate Professor and Associate Department Head
Grad ID #: C8037
765.494.5995
dlaux@purdue.edu
Magana, Alejandra J. Professor of Computer and Information Technology and Engineering Education (by courtesy).
Grad ID #: C8014
765-494-3994
admagana@purdue.edu
Matson, Eric T Professor
Grad ID #: C7400
765-494-8259
ematson@purdue.edu
McCartney, Gerry Vice President for Information Technology, Oesterle Professor of Information Technology and University CIO
Grad ID #: C6701
765-496-2270
mccart@purdue.edu
Min, Byung-Cheol Assistant Professor
Grad ID #: C9485
765-494-6490
minb@purdue.edu
Ngambeki, Ida B Assistant Professor
Grad ID #: C9753
765.496.6839
ingambek@purdue.edu
Rayz, Julia Taylor Associate Professor and Assistant Department Head
Grad ID #: C8059
765.494.9525
jtaylor1@purdue.edu
Rogers, Marcus K Professor
Grad ID #: C6011
765-494-1951
rogersmk@purdue.edu
Salam, Abdul Assistant Professor
Grad ID #: C10561
(765) 496-6867
salama@purdue.edu
Seigfried-Spellar, Kathryn C. Associate Professor
Grad ID #: C9227
765-494-2439
kspellar@purdue.edu
Springer, John A Professor
Grad ID #: C6985
765-496-7582
jaspring@purdue.edu
Sun, Wenhai Assistant Professor
Grad ID #: C10562
765-496-6883
whsun@purdue.edu
Yang, Baijian Associate Professor
Grad ID #: C8635
765.496.7143
byang@purdue.edu
Tenure-track, clinical, emeritus faculty, research faculty with a departmental affiliation, or professors of practice that hold a doctoral degree without a dissertation.
Tenure-track, clinical, emeritus faculty, research faculty with a departmental affiliation, or professors of practice that hold a master’s degree with a thesis.
Bentley, Lonnie D Professor
Grad ID #: C4735
765.494.2562
bentleyl@purdue.edu
Brewer, Jeffrey L Associate Professor
Grad ID #: C5640
765-496-6838
jbrewer@purdue.edu
Harriger, Alka R Professor
Grad ID #: C4767
765-494-2565
harrigea@purdue.edu
Dittman, Kevin C Associate Professor
Grad ID #: C5039
765-494-8387
kcdittman@purdue.edu
Rawles, Phillip T Associate Professor and Associate Department Head
Grad ID #: C4721
765-494-6486
ptrawles@purdue.edu
Smith, Anthony H Associate Professor
Grad ID #: C5952
765-496-6004
ahsmith@purdue.edu
Tenure-track, clinical, emeritus faculty, research faculty with a departmental affiliation, or professors of practice that hold a master’s degree without a thesis.
Homkes, Rick L Associate Professor
Grad ID #: C5450
765-455-9242
homkesrl@purdue.edu
O'Connor, Kevin Biometrics Center Director
Grad ID #:
765-494-4557
koconnor@purdue.edu
Research faculty without departmental affiliation, Purdue employees (including LTL, CTL, adjunct, visiting, post-doctoral and other non-faculty staff) and non-Purdue employees that hold a doctoral degree with a dissertation.
Black, David Adjunct Assistant Professor dblack@purdue.edu
Deadman, Robert Clinical Assistant Professor
Grad ID #: C10627
765-496-6862
rdeadman@purdue.edu
Park, Seongha park708@purdue.edu
Sanchez-Pena, Matilde Visiting Assistant Professor sanch105@purdue.edu
Schrader, Daniel dkschrad@purdue.edu
Springer, Mitchell L Executive Director of ProSTAR and Operations and Strategic Initiatives
Grad ID #:
765-496-2983
mlspring@purdue.edu
Research faculty without departmental affiliation, Purdue employees (including LTL, CTL, adjunct, visiting, post-doctoral and other non-faculty staff) and non-Purdue employees that hold a master’s degree with a thesis.
Hands, Nicole Clinical Assistant Professor nhands@purdue.edu
Research faculty without departmental affiliation, Purdue employees (including LTL, CTL, adjunct, visiting, post-doctoral and other non-faculty staff) and non-Purdue employees that hold a master’s degree without a thesis.
Ropp, Timothy D. Associate Professor of Practice
Grad ID #: C7169
765-494-9957
tropp@purdue.edu