Polytechnic faculty, staff recognized for awards, achievements

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Purdue Polytechnic faculty and staff are recognized frequently for their achievements. This summary, presented in chronological order, covers awards and recognition received from December 2018 through November 2019.

Mark French, James L. Jenkins and Linda L. Naimi

Mark French, professor of mechanical engineering technology, James L. Jenkins, associate professor of building construction management technology, and Linda L. Naimi, associate professor of organizational leadership and supervision, were inducted into Purdue University’s “Book of Great Teachers.” The award honors outstanding teaching faculty who have demonstrated sustained excellence in the classroom and is given only every five years.

Toni Munguia

Antonia “Toni” Munguia, director of recruiting, retention and diversity, was named a Purdue University Martin Luther King Jr. Dreamer Award recipient for 2019. The award is presented annually to individuals or organizations within the Purdue community whose contributions embody Dr. King’s vision of service to others and furthers the University’s commitment to diversity and inclusion.

Marcus Rogers

Marcus Rogers, professor of computer and information technology, was elected to the board of directors of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences, a multidisciplinary professional organization that provides leadership to advance science and its application to the legal system.

B.C. Min

Byung-Cheol “B.C.” Min, assistant professor of computer and information technology and director of the Smart Machine and Assistive Robotics Technology Lab, was honored with the National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career Development Program Award for his work related to human-robot interaction and multi-robot systems.

Dawn Laux

Dawn Laux, associate department head and clinical associate professor in the Department of Computer and Information Technology, was named a recipient of the 2019 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in Memory of Charles B. Murphy. The award is Purdue University’s highest honor for undergraduate teaching.

Bedrich Benes

Bedrich Benes, the George McNelly Professor of Technology and professor of computer science, has been promoted to senior member status by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). As the world’s largest computing society, ACM connects computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges.

Scott Bartholomew

Scott Bartholomew, assistant professor of engineering/technology teacher education, was presented with the Public Understanding of Technology and Engineering Education Award at the 81st Annual International Technology & Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) Conference.

Ken Burbank

Ken Burbank, head of the School of Engineering Technology, was named the recipient of the James H. McGraw Award by the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). The McGraw Award recognizes outstanding service in engineering technology education.

Mitchell Springer

The University Professional and Continuing Education Association (UPCEA) recognized Mitchell Springer, executive director of Purdue Online – Polytechnic Institute, with its 2019 UPCEA Leadership and Diversity Award. The annual honor singles out one individual for his or her outstanding accomplishments in one or more of the areas of research, educational programs and services, administrative practice or organizational commitment.

Misty Clugh & Robert Cox

Two sister units within International Programs honored members of Purdue Polytechnic’s Office of Globalization with awards. Misty Clugh, administrative assistant, was given the Outstanding ISS Liaison Award by the International Students and Scholars office, and Robert Cox, senior associate dean, was presented with the Vision Award by the Center for Intercultural Learning, Mentorship, Assessment and Research (CILMAR).

Phillip Sanger

Phillip Sanger, professor of electrical and computer engineering technology, won a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award for 2019-20.

Anthony Sparkling

Anthony Sparkling, assistant professor of construction management technology, was honored with the Early Career Award from ELECTRI International, the Foundation for Electrical Construction. The foundation conducts research for the electrical construction industry, in order to deliver exemplary management education and supervisory training programs.

Mesut Akdere & Renu Dalal

Mesut Akdere, associate professor of human resource development and director of Purdue HRD Virtual Lab, and Renu Dalal, a doctoral candidate in the Department of Technology Leadership & Innovation, won Emerald Publishing’s 2019 “Highly Commended” award for their co-authored article “Talent Development: Status Quo and Future Directions” published in Industrial and Commercial Training journal. The Emerald Literati Awards honor outstanding contributions of authors of scholarly research.

College Awards

Academic Advisor Award

Danielle Gilbert, senior academic advisor

Business Office Service Award

Emily Stevenson, business assistant

Customer Service Awards

Elizabeth Barajas, global programs coordinator

Brenda Sheets, School of Construction Management Technology

Leadership Awards

Sarah Prater, Division of Military Science and Technology

Corey Sharp, director, Purdue Polytechnic Anderson

Statewide Excellence Award

Whitney Ramer, student affairs coordinator, Purdue Polytechnic Columbus

Staff Equity, Inclusion and Advocacy Award

Misty Clugh, administrative assistant, Office of Globalization

Faculty Equity, Inclusion and Advocacy Award

Nathalie Duval-Couetil, professor of technology leadership and innovation

Outstanding Faculty in Learning Award

José Garcia Bravo, assistant professor of engineering technology

Exceptional Early Career for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award

Nicole Hands, clinical assistant professor of computer and information technology

Outstanding Faculty in Discovery Award

Byung-Cheol “B.C.” Min, assistant professor of computer and information technology

John P. Lisack Early-Career Engagement Award

Mark Zimpfer, assistant clinical professor, School of Construction Management Technology

Outstanding Faculty in Engagement Award

Mark Zimpfer, assistant clinical professor, School of Construction Management Technology

Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor Award

Gozdem Kilaz, assistant professor of engineering technology

This article first appeared in Innovation Magazine, published annually by Purdue Polytechnic for alumni and friends.

Additional information: