Strimel, Hubbard receive Murphy Awards for outstanding undergraduate teaching

Greg Strimel and Bryan Hubbard learn they each received a 2023 Murphy Award, Purdue's highest undergraduate teaching honor, via surprise announcements in their classes. (Purdue University photos/Kelsey Lefever)

Two professors in Purdue University’s Polytechnic Institute are among the five professors across campus who have received Purdue’s highest undergraduate teaching honor this year.

Bryan Hubbard, professor of construction management technology, and Greg Strimel, associate professor of technology leadership and innovation, both received a 2023 Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award.

A delegation from the Office of the Provost surprised both Hubbard and Strimel during class sessions to announce their awards.

Hubbard and Strimel join Esteban Garcia Bravo, associate professor of computer graphics technology, Dawn Laux, clinical associate professor of computer and information technology, and Mark French, professor of mechanical engineering technology, as Murphy Award winners from Purdue Polytechnic within the last six years. Strimel also won an Exceptional Early Career Teaching Award in 2021.



Additional information